About me: Becoming a children’s author and illustrator.

Inside the Sherbrooke Forest in the Dandenong Ranges near Melbourne

I grew up in the Dandenong Ranges in Victoria, Australia, surrounded by bush on a large property. The area was home to all sorts of Australian animals and birds. Common visitors included wombats and echidnas and kangaroos on occasion came down from the mountain when bushfires threatened their homes.

Apart from all the native animals, there were lots of birds including Rainbow Lorikeets, Bell birds, Galahs and Cockatoos. Other amazing birds included Kookaburras and Tawny Frogmouths. You couldn´t miss the Kookaburras as their call sounded like they were laughing down at us, but extra loudly!photo of a kookaburra

I loved horses as a child and had at various times a grey pony called Pippi Longstocking, named after one of my favourite book characters, and another horse called Satin. I went to pony club, and competed at horse shows as well! My family always had lots of pets, including a donkey called Danny, a black cat called Frosty, two Siamese cats named Chun and Shino, and a pet hen named Chook Chook.

Art and Writing:

I’ve always loved reading and art since early childhood. I spent hours painting and drawing, making items with clay, doing collages and working with fabric.

Some of my favourite books include The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis, and Nancy Drew Mysteries. My favourite movies as a child were To Kill a Mockingbird and The Wizard of OZ. As a very young child l remember my dad reading The Magic Pudding to me, Dr Suezz books and Hans Christian Anderson fairytales.

Later, I attended Monash University in Melbourne and studied history and politics. At Swinburne College, I studied art and design, and also painting and illustration at Box Hill College.

My work history has been interesting and varied, but most of my jobs have included a writing or art element for them! I have worked as a graphic artist, a copywriter, a promotions officer and a media assistant.

I have always been interested in writing and illustrating childrenś books, and also still work part-time in the early childhood sector, as an Integration Aide with kids with additional needs. My favourite thing to do is reading all the wonderful picture books to the kinder kids, then coming up with stories of my own to illustrate.

About Me:

I live with my Portuguese-born partner Rui, our daughter Isabel and our dog Taffy.

About Me Profile PictureTaffy amazes me on a daily basis with her love and kindness. She is also the inspiration for the character of Scooter McPhee who is the main character in my first children’s ebook I’ve just published on Amazon.

I hope you liked reading my bio, and enjoy looking at my art and books! I would love to hear from you, and l will keep you up to date with any new artwork and future books. Look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best Wishes,

Lisa.